Skip to main content

Your Future is Calling. With the GED, You Can Answer!

GED Testing

The purpose of the test, General Educational Development (GED) is to provide an opportunity for any adult who did not complete a high school program but would like to have their learning experiences encountered in everyday life evaluated and recognized. The GED Test makes it possible for qualified individuals to earn a high school credential, thus providing opportunities for hundreds of thousands of adults to

  • Pursue higher education
  • Obtain jobs or job promotions
  • Achieve personal goals

Did you know GED graduates include: Actor Christian Slater, U.S. Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell of Colorado, and Delaware’s Governor Ruth Ann Minner. One out of every seven high school diplomas issued each year in the United States is based on passing the GED Tests.

Who is eligible to take the GED?

  • Must be 17 years old and not enrolled in high school
  • Must have a valid official picture ID (Drivers license, military ID, State ID). Expired identification cards are not valid

What does it cost?

  • $150.00 for the complete test
  • $20.00 per subject to retest
  • $37.50 per subject

How can I get scheduled to take the GED?

The GED is now administered on the computer in a certified testing center. To schedule your test go to create a MyGED today log-in. Then choose PIKES PEAK COMMUNITY COLLEGE as your test site. After that, you can choose to take the entire test at once and pay the total fee ($150.00); or you can choose to take it one at a time and pay for it one at a time ($37.50)!! If any problems occur during you registration process contact Pearson Vue at 1-877-392-6433.

What is the GED test?

The 2014 GED® test is a four-subject high school equivalency test that measures skills required by high schools and requested by colleges and employers. The four subjects are:

  • Science
  • Social Studies
  • Mathematical Reasoning
  • Reasoning Through Language Arts
Interested? Visit to learn more!

How can one prepare for the GED?

GED Testing Service offers MyGEDTM at as a start-to-finish online program to help you succeed. This personalized program guides you through the entire testing process and helps you find study help, prepare for test day, access your personal study plan and learn about colleges and jobs. You can visit the Study tab on MyGEDTM to find online study materials and books, information about local adult education centers, and GED ReadyTM: The Official Practice Test. Your Score Report on GED ReadyTM will include personal feedback and recommendations to help you improve your scores.

  • Study materials (guides and videos) may be checked out from libraries or purchased at bookstores
  • GED classes offered through some school districts (District #2 or #11, check phone directory for numbers and address)

What are passing scores?

The passing score for each GED subject area is now 145 instead of 150. This means if a student achieves a score of 145 or higher, they have passed that subject area. The updated score levels will be reflected in a tester's score report on on March 1, 2016, but until then testers should know that if they score 145 or higher, they have passed and there is no need to re-take that test subject.

Any test taken since January 1, 2014 with a score between 145 -149 will be automatically updated to show that a student passed. Students who have credentialed as a result of this change will receive their credential soon after March 1.

Following the announcement, we will allow testers who achieved a 145-149 score and have scheduled another attempt to cancel those tests without penalty. Please direct them to 1-877-EXAM-GED (877-392-6433). We will be proactively emailing these scheduled testers to avoid last minute cancellations. If testers have any questions, please direct them to for more assistance.

What happens if my scores do not meet the minimum passing standard?

You can take a test module, and two subsequent module retests, with no restrictions between retakes. If you fail the second or any subsequent retest, the test taker must wait 60 days for each successive attempt..

Other links to GED Sites